What bug bounty hunters get
Money and reputation. In 2022, a white hat who found a flaw in the Wormhole bridge was paid $10 million. That’s still the largest bug bounty ever paid. A strong HackerOne record or a hall-of-fame mention from Google opens doors to security jobs and access to invite-only private bug bounty programs.
#1. Apple Security Bounty
Apple doubled its top award to $2M in late 2025, aiming it squarely at the zero-click exploit chains that mercenary spyware relies on. Bonuses for beta software and Lockdown Mode bypasses can push a single payout past $5M. Rewards start at $1,000, and Apple has paid more than $35M to over 800 researchers since the program’s public launch in 2020.

Apple Security Bounty
Pays the most for zero-click exploit chains on iPhone and Mac.
Paid: $35M+ total
#2. Google Bug Hunters
Google runs every product’s bounty from one portal, from Android and Chrome to Cloud and Gemini. It paid a record $17.1M to 747 researchers in 2025. A zero-click Pixel exploit tops the list at $1.5M, and a separate AI vulnerability reward program pays up to $30K for attacks on Gemini and Workspace. Google also prioritizes demonstrated security impact and working proofs of concept over theoretical vulnerabilities.

Google Bug Hunters
One program for Android, Chrome, Cloud and Google’s AI products.
Paid in 2025: $17.1M
#3. Samsung Mobile Security Rewards
Samsung offers $200 to $1 million for vulnerabilities affecting Galaxy devices, One UI, and eligible Samsung apps. The top prize goes to researchers who can remotely compromise Knox Vault and access protected credentials. In 2025, Samsung paid $879,770 for roughly 450 valid reports. But a new hurdle emerged in September 2026: every submission must include a working proof of concept (PoC), after a surge in unverified, AI-generated vulnerability reports.

Samsung Mobile Security
Covers Galaxy devices, One UI and Samsung’s own mobile apps.
Paid in 2025: $879,770
Hire senior pre-vetted Android and iOS developers to launch secure mobile apps to the App Store and Google Play faster.
#4. Meta Bug Bounty
Meta’s program covers Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, and Threads, plus newer targets like WhatsApp’s Private Processing for AI features. Mobile remote code execution pays up to $300K, and account takeovers pay up to $130K. Payouts nearly doubled in 2025 to more than $4M, and bonuses can add up to 30% on top.

Meta Bug Bounty
Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp and Threads, with bonuses up to 30%.
Paid in 2025: $4M+
#5. Microsoft Bounty Programs
Microsoft runs separate bounties for Windows, Azure, Microsoft 365, and Copilot, with rewards from $300. Endpoint and on-prem bugs pay up to $250K per report. The program has paid $20M to 562 researchers in its latest program year, and its Zero Day Quest hacking event carries a $5M pool for 2026.

Microsoft Bounty Programs
A family of programs spanning Windows, Azure, Microsoft 365 and Copilot.
Paid, latest year: $20M
#6. Shopify Bug Bounty
Shopify keeps a live counter of every dollar it pays: $10.2M all-time and $1.6M in 2026 so far. Critical bugs in the core platform earn up to $200K, with rewards starting at $500. For SaaS founders, it’s the clearest public picture of what a mature program costs.

Shopify Bug Bounty
Publishes a live counter of everything it has paid researchers.
Paid: $10.2M all-time
#7. OpenAI Security Bug Bounty
OpenAI raised its top reward fivefold to $100K in March 2025 for exceptional critical findings in ChatGPT, the API, and its infrastructure. Rewards start at $200, and the program runs on Bugcrowd. Jailbreaks and agent safety issues go to a separate Safety Bug Bounty launched in March 2026.

OpenAI Security Bug Bounty
ChatGPT, the API and OpenAI’s infrastructure. Safety bugs have a separate program.
Paid: Not disclosed
Prompt injection and data leaks through AI agents now sit in scope at Google, Microsoft, OpenAI, and Adobe. If your product ships LLM features, those same bugs apply to you, and so does the need for AI engineers who build with them in mind.
#8. Salesforce Bug Bounty
Salesforce has run its bounty since 2015 and put $30.4M into it so far. 2025 was its biggest year yet: $6.2M paid to 696 researchers for more than 4,000 reports. Rewards start at $500, and the largest single payout to date is $60K. Researchers can earn more through targeted campaigns, which typically run for 1–4 weeks and offer 1.5–5× the standard bounty for specific products or vulnerability types.

Salesforce Bug Bounty
Ten years running, with its biggest payout year in 2025.
Paid in 2025: $6.2M
#9. Anthropic Model Safety Bug Bounty
Anthropic’s program targets one thing: universal jailbreaks of the safety classifiers that protect Claude. A novel universal jailbreak earns up to $35K, up from $25K at launch in May 2025. Researchers apply to join and work under an NDA, and rewards start at $100.

Anthropic Model Safety
Pays for universal jailbreaks of Claude’s safety classifiers. Entry by application.
Paid: Not disclosed
#10. PayPal Bug Bounty
PayPal pays $50 to $30,000 per bug across PayPal and Braintree, with criticals at $20K-30K. Common issues like XSS and subdomain takeovers have fixed payouts, so researchers know what to expect before they submit. PayPal has paid researchers since 2012 and passed $6M by 2020.

PayPal Bug Bounty
PayPal and Braintree, with fixed payouts for common bugs like XSS.
Paid, 2012–2020: $6M+
#11. Mozilla Client Bug Bounty
Mozilla’s bounty covers Firefox and Thunderbird, and reports go straight into its public bug tracker, Bugzilla. A sandbox escape earns the top $20K, and bugs that also bypass a security mitigation get a 50% bonus. Rewards start at $500.

Mozilla Bug Bounty
Firefox and Thunderbird, plus 50% extra for mitigation bypasses.
Paid: Not disclosed
#12. Adobe Bug Bounty
Adobe moved its bounty to Intigriti on September 1, 2026, and has expanded its scope to AI security research. Rewards scale with severity and asset tier, from $100 up to $15K for exceptional bugs on Tier 1 assets. Adobe also pays higher rewards for account takeover vulnerabilities that let attackers access accounts across different organizations, rather than compromising just one user’s account.

Adobe Bug Bounty
Moved to Intigriti in September 2026, with three asset tiers.
Paid: Not disclosed
#13. Atlassian Bug Bounty
Atlassian pays most for its core cloud products: Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket and Trello. Critical bugs on those Tier 1 products earn up to $10K, with rewards starting at $100. It also runs a Marketplace program on Bugcrowd, where Atlassian covers the platform costs for third-party app vendors.

Atlassian Bug Bounty
Pays most for its core cloud products: Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket and Trello.
Paid, FY22: $383,600
#14. GitHub Security Bug Bounty
GitHub restructured its bounty in July 2026: public rewards now run from $250 to a fixed $10K for criticals. Bigger payouts of $30K and up moved to an invite-only VIP tier. To qualify, researchers need a track record of at least one critical, two high, four medium, or seven low-severity findings. Scope covers GitHub.com, Actions, and Copilot.

GitHub Security Bug Bounty
Public critical payouts capped at $10K; larger rewards go to an invite-only tier.
Paid: Not disclosed
What is a bug bounty program?
A bug bounty program is a standing offer from a company: find a security vulnerability in our product, report it privately, and we’ll pay you. The people who take that offer are independent security researchers, often called ethical hackers or white-hat hackers.
Every program publishes a few ground rules:
- Scope: which products, domains, or apps researchers may test, also known as in-scope assets.
- Rules of engagement: what researchers can’t do, like touching real user data or running denial-of-service attacks. They establish boundaries for responsible testing.
- Reward table: how much each type of bug pays, usually tied to severity (low, medium, high, critical).
- Safe harbor: a promise not to take legal action against researchers who follow the rules.
After a researcher submits a vulnerability report, the company’s security team triages it to verify the finding, assess its impact, and determine whether it qualifies for a reward. The team then handles remediation (fixes the vulnerability) and may ask the researcher to retest the affected system. This process helps companies improve their overall security posture.
The highest rewards typically go to vulnerabilities that could compromise millions of devices, expose sensitive data, or put significant financial assets at risk. But advertised maximums are exceptional payouts that don’t happen every day.
Minor website bug
HackerOne’s Internet Bug Bounty now pays $68 for a low
$50–$500
Critical web app bug
Tesla tops out at $15K, GitHub’s public critical is $10K
$5K–$20K
Browser or cloud takeover
Chrome and Microsoft cap at $250K
$100K–$250K
Zero-click phone attack
Android $1.5M, Apple $2M
$1M–$2M+
Crypto platform hack
Sky up to $10M, LayerZero up to $15M
$1M–$15M
Bug bounty program vs. vulnerability disclosure program
A vulnerability disclosure program (VDP) gives researchers an official channel to responsibly disclose vulnerabilities, but it doesn’t necessarily offer financial compensation. A bug bounty program adds cash rewards for qualifying vulnerabilities.
Both rely on a vulnerability disclosure policy that defines reporting procedures, authorized testing, and responsible disclosure expectations. Some organizations start with a VDP to establish a reporting process before introducing paid rewards.
Unlike penetration testing, where a company hires professionals to assess specific systems within a defined timeframe, bug bounty hunters are generally rewarded for valid findings rather than hours worked.
A bounty finds the bugs. In-house teams still have to fix them. Lemon.io matches you with vetted cybersecurity developers who can clear a vulnerability backlog, strengthen your stack before you launch a program, and handle bug reports as they come in.

